Bath High School Preservation Board of Directors' Meeting

June 7, 2016

The regular monthly meeting of the Bath High School Preservation Board of Directors was held on June 7, 2016, in The Pirate Hall of the former Bath High School. President Ruth Dorkin called the meeting to order and welcomed board members Gerald Morris, Margaret Ann Woolard, Carol Persche, Sandra McMcCann, Ricky Carawan, Becky Tuten, Celestia Carson, June Lee and Claudia Alligood.

The opening item of business was a gift of appreciation for Jerol and Sonya Selby. For ten years the Selbys has generously provided a venue for our annual oyster roast at great expense and effort to themselves and their crew. They will enjoy a two-day getaway to Ocracoke Island as a small thank you for BHSP for their tireless support.

The major item of business was the voting on the deed transfer of the northwest wing (office wing) from BHSP to the Historic Bath Foundation. This transfer has been underway and under negotiations for many months. Susan Modlin, a BHSP member, called for point of order, stating that there was a binding resolution preventing the division for the property (which would take place with this deed transfer). There was quite a bit of discussion. Sandra Harrison, former BHSP president and BHSP representative for the negotiation of the transfer, went step by step through the changing of the original vote in 2014 against the division of the property. Becky Tuten, another former president and respresentative to the negotiation process cited the insufficiency of funds necessary to complete the northwest wing project and the need to have HBF share the burden by renovating the wing for use as a museum. Ruth Dorkin also reiterated the actions being taken by the BHSP board. Sandra summarized our actions and stressed the inclusion of a reversionary clause that would guarantee the reversion of the northwest wing back to BHSP at any time that the wing was not used as a museum or any similar use. Susan Modlin also cited the right of first refusal as the town had made a part of the original agreement with BHSP when the building was purchased. It was made clear that the town had been informed of all phases of negotiation and they were in agreement with the deed transfer. Margaret Ann Woolard moved to approve the transfer the deed to Historic Bath Foundation as per all specification and agreement points noted in previous discussions with our board. Gerald Morris seconded the motion. The vote was 8 in favor, 1 opposed and 1 abstention. The motion carried.

Mike Godley, representing the Nominating Committee, presented the current officers who have agreed to serve for another year. Those officers are President, Ruth Dorkin; Vice President, Gerald Morris; Treasurer, June Lee; Secretary, Claudia Alligood; and Past President, Becky Tuten. The slate of officers was accepted unanimously. Ricky Carawan was also nominated and approved by the board to fill the unexpired one-year term of Jeannie Woolard.

Ruth Dorkin expressed appreciation to all who have been responsible for tables that we are currently using, especially for the table that will be moved from the office wing to the hall. Betsy Gray was largely responsible for that table. We also have chairs on order.

Susan Beitham suggested the purchase of a PA system since the acoustics in the hall make hearing very difficult.

The meeting was adjourned. N	ext meeting is scheduled for August 2, 2016, 7:00 p.m.
Respectfully submitted, Claudia W. Alligood, Secretary	
Date approved	
	Ruth W. Dorkin, President
	Claudia W. Alligood, Secretary